The Ballad of the Wayfaring Stranger and the Dead Man’s Whore by Sean Demory

1

May 30, 2014 by Tiffany A. Robbins

This is a short story that i just read by Sean Demory. He was a panelist at ConQuesT 45, and was presented as a horror writer. He himself said that he doesn’t set out to write horror, but sets out to write something else and it becomes horror.
I think he and his lovely short story are an excellent illustration as to why I don’t generally read the horror genre. Rather than being swept up in the fear that I assume would come with the genre, I am always swept away by the beauty and artistry of the words themselves. It is indeed a ballad, and despite its macabre settings and characters, I found it to be beautiful, lovely, and gentle. It leaves me convinced that Sean Demory has an interesting spirit that I want to bathe in, and it also leaves me continuing to believe that horror may be too lush of a genre to offer me any fear. Of course, I must admit that I’ve to this day read very little of it, and that I consider creature horror to be an entirely different thing.
Good work, Sean. It is a lovely piece, and I wholeheartedly recommend it to people who find dark poetry appealing. I can’t help but relate it to Poe’s Annabelle Lee which happens to be one of my favorite pieces of literature.

One thought on “The Ballad of the Wayfaring Stranger and the Dead Man’s Whore by Sean Demory

  1. Sean Demory says:

    Thanks so much for your compliments! I question the value of the term “horror” as opposed to what local writer (and goddamned genius) Orrin Grey describes as “weird fiction.” Really, “Wayfaring Stranger” isn’t necessarily jump-out-of-your-seat scary as much as it’s supposed to have a certain slow-burn uncanniness to it. If it’s immersive and interesting, I consider it a win.

    Definitely appreciate your thoughts and your post. Thanks again!

    Like

Anything to add? I love comments and critiques both...

Post Topics

Archives

Goodreads

