ConQuesT 45: 10 Things I Learned From Selina Rosen

4

May 29, 2014 by Tiffany A. Robbins

Over Memorial Day weekend, I attended ConQuesT 45 in Kansas City. One of my favorite people there was a guest named Selina Rosen who runs Yard Dog Press (Go buy their books). Her brutal honesty and fun loving spirit moved me. Sadly, she wasn’t 100% happy to be there. So, to say thank you to Mrs. Rosen for attending our little Kansas City Con, I wrote a list of ten things I learned from her.

  1. I’m not gregarious, and I need to be.
  2. Someone in this world other than my sister thinks that CJ Cherryh is amazing, and I probably ought to give the poor little paidhi-aiji a second chance.
  3. Big publishers like to piss on the little guy.
  4. Authors should go to cons for the fun, and not the book sales.
  5. I like her, so I should read her book. 🙂
  6. Authors compromise to make a buck.
  7. It feels good to stop compromising when you realize that you’re not going to make a buck either way.
  8. Sometimes, it okay to pull your pants down to your ankles in a public setting.
  9. I wish I were cool enough to be part of an “Avalanche of Gay,” but alas, I am not.
  10. Selina Rosen looks damn good in a hat.

Thanks for being there for me, Selina. You rocked it.

This is Robin Wayne Bailey’s photo that I stole from Selina’s facebook page.

 

4 thoughts on “ConQuesT 45: 10 Things I Learned From Selina Rosen

  1. Trisha Lynn says:

    Based on the recent Facebook post by a Fan Guest of Honor who was on the same panel as Ms. Rosen, I’m curious as to why you felt empowered by her taking her pants off during a panel. Can you help me put her actions into context? Based on Mark Oshiro’s words, he didn’t similarly feel empowered by her actions at ConQuesT 46 when she did the same thing on the panel about whether or not fans are open-minded.

    Like

  2. […] Robbins saw Rosen’s act in 2014 and wrote in ConQuesT 45: 10 Things I Learned From Selina Rosen – “8. Sometimes, it okay to pull your pants down to your ankles in a public […]

    Like

  3. […] received a comment from Trisha Lynn on my blog post ConQuesT 45: 10 Things I Learned from Selina Rosen: “Based on the recent Facebook post by a Fan Guest of Honor who was on the same panel as Ms. […]

    Like

Anything to add? I love comments and critiques both...

Post Topics

Archives

Goodreads

