Writing in the Park plus Update and Magnus

Leave a comment

June 20, 2013 by Tiffany A. Robbins

ParkPanoramaSmall

I know I’ve shown you guys this park before, but it is a new writing season for me and I was inspired. For some reason, writing outside always makes me want to blog and take photos.

DSC08667 DSC08680 DSC08669 DSC08678

Of course, my reason for being out here is being neglected with every word I share, but writing is writing. I think as long as I am putting my words out into the world it does not matter if they are on paper or on a blog. At least for the time being, my audience is larger here anyway.
I have been working very hard on getting Something With Cigarettes ready to put out into the world. I have a lot of new stuff I want to write, but before I move on, I want to get something of mine out into the world. I don’t think it is the type of novella that is going to get me well-known due to its controversial subject matter, but Cameron has decided it will be my obscure cult classic that, when I am famous, will separate my true fans from the people who only read pop literature. He then compared it to Metamorphosis and A Clockwork Orange and I decided to get busy with it. He knows me too well.
Anywho, book reviews. I finished up Magnus by Sigmund Brouwer for the first time since I was a young teen. It was always my favorite book. Now, I wonder what kind of crap I must have been comparing it to. It will always have a warm, sentimental place in my heart, but as an adult, it was difficult to take seriously.
When I went looking for it, I was surprised to find that the author writes Christian books. Then when I reread it, I was shocked to be bombarded with badly veiled religious messages. I must admit that I felt a little manipulated by the whole thing. As a kid, I took away the power of science and knowledge on an uneducated society. Now, I feel like the message is that we should pray even if we lack faith. Not that it is an invalid message, but it was not one that was very welcome. I will still read its sequel at some point because I already bought it, but I will probably wait until a time when I am a little less jaded by religion than I am right now.
It is still a fun little adventure story.

Anything to add? I love comments and critiques both...

Post Topics

Archives

Goodreads

