A.M. Bedroom Talk

Leave a comment

June 5, 2013 by Tiffany A. Robbins

My husband and I always seem to have the most random-yet interesting-talk in the morning while I’m getting ready for work. He’s half asleep and I still have half a mouthful of toothpaste.

This morning, he randomly said, “I’ve been playing out this scene from a Card book in my head all night where he’s walking down a hallway and describing an object in detail all the while saying how unimportant the object is.”

I said, “You of all people should appreciate a good focus object.” (He has ADHD)

He grunted.

Then I rambled on about one of my novels I’m editing and about how I’d added in 1000 words of focus object yesterday to help slow the pace and ground the reader.

He asked what I was working on and I told him. Then he said, “You know, if you ever manage to get a book banned, it’ll be that one.”

And it hit me: I would be so proud to have a book banned one day.

I love going to my closest locally owned bookstore and perusing the banned book isle. My favorite class in high school was “Novels” because we spent the semester reading books that had been banned. Then I wondered why. Is my nature just that contrary.

I decided the answer is: No. I’m not contrary. I just love that words that I created out of nothing could one day evoke that kind of response in someone. I honestly think that as a writer, that would be a defining moment to me. That moment would tell me that my words have weight and they matter. I don’t care what the response is (happy, sad, rebellious, angry).

I just want a response.

Then of course the hubby and I went on to discuss the poetry and music skills of The Doors vs. The Used. I love that man and our early morning bedroom talk.

Anything to add? I love comments and critiques both...

Post Topics

Archives

Goodreads

