Reading Update

Leave a comment

September 7, 2012 by Tiffany A. Robbins

I know that I just did a review on the Ender series by Orson Scott Card last year, but I recently reread/skimmed the 1st (Ender’s Game), 2nd (Speaker for the Dead), and 4th (Children of the Mind) books in preparation for my 3-Day Novel entry. I was writing as a voice from the grave so I was trying to channel a bit of Card’s Speaker for the Dead religion he creates in those books. This time around, I was much more focused on the family/friend relationships that Ender develops after leaving battle school.

The first time through, I had been so enamoured with Battle-School-Ender, that Real-Life-Andrew came as a disappointment to me. This time, expecting the drastic transition of Ender to Andrew, I found I really started enjoying his relationship with Novinha and her children. Some books only get better with time and this may be one of them.

—–

I also picked up Hex by Allen Steele which is another spin-off of his Coyote series, which is among my most beloved collections. I found his world building in this one to be above and beyond any of his other works, but I found the character choices lacking believability. I really hate to chastise on of my top five favorite authors of all time, but this one read like a soap opera at best. To sum it up: a fun premise, but a miss. I’m truly sorry for my honesty Mr. Steele. I still adore you.

—–

A friend of mine recommended the book Lies My Teacher Told Me by James W. Loewen. I’m only a chapter into it. I’m not sure how much of it I’ll read because I have trouble with the deeper aspects of history and the clearly liberal slant of the material he presents; but I LOVE the idea behind it of exposing all the lies and partial truths that the American education system gives us.

Anything to add? I love comments and critiques both...

Post Topics

Archives

Goodreads

