Latest Creativity

Leave a comment

April 5, 2012 by Tiffany A. Robbins

I went for a whole week and a half without writing a thing. Guilt was my constant companion. I even tried writing in the park, but alas, the day was too beautiful to do anything but sit and feel the sunshine.

Then, all of a sudden, it passed and now I’m writing like a maniac.

The only problem is, its all new stuff. I feel like I need to really concentrate on getting some of my past projects up to speed so I can start submitting them to the world of writing, but I have ideas and I don’t want to kill them by being a party pooper.

So, I’ve got one old project I’m working on just a little bit each day and as a reward, I’m going crazy with the new things:

Project 1: Its an idea for a novel that starts with a group of people on a bus. The bus driver is some wierd alien guy (that looks human) who take them all on a fantastic ride. It should be super fun!

Project 2: I’m working on a screenplay for Tunnel in the Sky by Robert A. Heinlein. I’ve always wanted to do a screenplay and this is one of my favorite books that hasn’t already been turned into a movie. I’m not sure how dedicated I am to finishing it, but this idea is what got me out of my slump and got me back on track.

Project 3: My sister suggested a while back that we should do a writing challenge of the 12 Steps to Intimacy. I’m going to see her this weekend and see if we can get plans for that laid out.

Anyway, that’s what I’ve been working on. My old project that I’m working on is Justice to the Yeti. A writing friend told me about a short story sci-fi/horror/fantasy contest. I figured I would pare down Justice to the Yeti and see how it goes. I’m using the saying Creativity is Subtraction as my inspiration. I have to cut out at least 10 thousand words out of approximately 30 thousand for it to qualify for the contest. I’m actually hoping to get it down to a total 10-15 thousand words. I think the story would benefit from the simplification process and it would give me a nice short story to have in my repertoir.

On a different note, I finished Appaloosa by Robert B. Parker. It is still not my typical read, though I did gain some things from it. I would label it as a nice typical western story with a nice balance between plot and character. The interchanges between the main characters were a very nice lesson for me in dialog. I also found the simplicity of the book and story line to be refreshing. It was what it was – no deeper meaning yet something to add to life. I’d recommend it, yet I won’t be changing my fiction collection or my writing practices to westerns anytime soon.

I had started Animal Farm by George Orwell, but it fell behind my nightstand and I have yet to retrieve it. Instead, I’m reading Tunnel in the Sky for my script and rereading Hunger Games just because I’m in the mood since seeing the movie. So I probably won’t have any more book reviews for at least a month or so, but I promise, I’ll get back to Animal Farm.

Anything to add? I love comments and critiques both...

Post Topics

Archives

Goodreads

