The Picture of Dorian Gray

Leave a comment

February 28, 2012 by Tiffany A. Robbins

I read this last night and felt very moved by it. My head has been quite cloudy the past week or so due to a head cold or allergies or something, so I’m having difficulty nailing down why this touched me so much.

“There were sins whose fascination was more in the memory than in the doing of them, strange triumphs that gratified the pride more than the passions, and gave to the intellect a quickened sense of joy, greater than any joy they brought, or could ever bring, to the senses.” – The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

I figured, I can always post it here and I can come back to it later. I feel like it encompasses the greatest years of my youth. You know, those years where every day seemed to yield a great story.

I’ve been having a lot of mixed feelings about this book. I assume I like it since I’m about half way through it and I haven’t put it down. I keep waiting for some revelation in it to slam against my brain and make it forever my favorite book, but so far, that hasn’t happened. There must be some potential there though, or I would have put it down in the first chapter.

I guess I keep complaining about it as I read because my husband keeps telling me that if it ticks me off so much I should just stop reading it. However, I keep going.

Have you ever read it? If so, I’d love to know your thoughts on it.

Anything to add? I love comments and critiques both...

Post Topics

Archives

Goodreads

