Current Happenings

Leave a comment

January 6, 2012 by Tiffany A. Robbins

I’ve recently joined a writer’s group and I’m having an absolute blast with it! We write short fiction and then sit around and critique each other. The group is great and seems to be growing all the time. It has got me breaking out of some creative writing shells and helping me to explore topics I would not otherwise write about. Some of the assignments are turning out to be downright therapeutic.

I’ve been reading The Song of Fire and Ice books by George R. R. Martin recently. They’re a handful to read and I’m a slow reader so they’ve been occupying most of my off time. They’re a lovely selection of gritty fantasy-esque writing. They’re stories that make you love the villains and hate the heroes. Then they leave you wondering who the villains and heroes really are. It really comes down to we are all heroes and we are all villains.

One of the guys in my writer’s group wrote a piece that he shared with us that was from the perspective of a jester in a story very similar to the Fire and Ice books. It was epically entertaining because all the while this jester was out in the open and entertaining the group of nobility, he was also the evil villain plotting and scheming and murdering. It was a beautiful portrayal of the unnoticed and I felt a fitting mesh of two current aspects of my life.

Anything to add? I love comments and critiques both...

Post Topics

Archives

Goodreads

