Planning and Reading

Leave a comment

October 21, 2011 by Tiffany A. Robbins

I’ve been in a reading and planning frenzy.

Planning – I’ve been planning a part II and part III for Justice to the Yeti which I will rough draft during November for NaNoWriMo. I’m so terribly excited for the kick-off and the month of frenzy. I had not planned on doing it this year, but my dear sister insisted and then my mom decided to join in on the fun. How could I refuse?

The first part which I completed for the 3-Day Novel Contest was about Piticus, a yeti living the life of a hermit in the Himalayas. It focuses on his developing relationship with a human he rescues and his past which he ran from because of youthful folly. It raises a lot of questions about his past and the yeti culture.

In part II, we get the perspective of Usme who was a partner in Piticus’s youthful folly. We accompany her on her journey of redemption.

In part III, we see from Anmedus’s perspective. He was Piticus’s best friend and the up and coming ruler of the yeti culture. He struggles with war, rebellion, and a love triangle.

Reading – I’ve recently tackled The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins. My husband recommended them since my Yeti novel is told in a similar manner. The first novel in the trilogy was just amazing. I was less enthused by the subsequent two novels, but they were definitely worth reading. I was unthrilled with the ending, but that was just personal opinion because I preferred the young man who the protagonist didn’t end up with. I loved the tone and mood of the story and would definitely recommend the books to anyone looking for a good, quick read. I’m unsure how the upcoming movie will turn out, but I’m excited to see it just the same.

I literally just put down Enchantment by Orson Scott Card. I swear that man never fails to deliver. It’s a beautiful take on Russian fairy tales and as Card brings out in the novel, Russian fairy tales never have a happily ever after once the knight kisses the princess. I was really amazed at his ability to show cultural differences that span countries. As someone who has always been fascinated by Russian culture (though by no means an authority on such), I felt his portrayal of the culture was true and genuine. It was not a quick read for me as I am a slow reader sometimes, but I felt that the slower pace allowed me to really indulge in the story. It never lagged. A definite recommendation.

Anything to add? I love comments and critiques both...

Post Topics

Archives

Goodreads

