From Ender to Omens

Leave a comment

July 6, 2011 by Tiffany A. Robbins

The Ender series has finally come to an end for me, and I find I must agree with my friends about the outcome: The four Bean books are amazing and the four Ender books slide downhill. In the book Xenocide, we find our beloved Ender and his family members (wife and sister) becoming increasingly obsolete and uninteresting. It is my belief that Orson Scott Card has more respect for youth than he does for his own peers as his characters tend to get stupider with age.
A friend (and my kind editor) recently turned me onto the book Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett. I found it to be refreshing from my usual reading though it left me squirming with conflicting emotions that ravished by brain as I read the book that was so biblically wrong yet so shoulder-shakingly funny. I found myself falling in love with Eden’s serpent Crowley and dreaming of one day owning my very own 1926 mint condition black Bentley. Of course, I’d disown any of my friends if they ever turned down any sort of Bentley, and that had nothing to do with my reading this book.
I’ve been procrastinating writing the last few months. I’ve been working on a re-write ofTruth Beneath the Tide and I am finding that I’m only actually writing a few hundred words in any of my write-ins. So this month and next month, I am buckling down and I am determined to get through it. Afterall, the story is written, it shouldn’t be that difficult to rewrite it. I have a goal to hit and I am determined to hit it. Because…
I plan to start writing Justice to the Yeti over labor day weekend. My dear sister and I are planning to hole-up in a hotel room and just write for three days straight. I am so excited because 1) I love being creative with my sister and 2) I’m looking forward to writing this story. It is so different from anything I’ve ever written before and it will really force me outside of my creative mold.

Anything to add? I love comments and critiques both...

Post Topics

Archives

Goodreads

